Ubuntu 7.10 – Gutsy Gibbons

A new release of Ubuntu is out today. I’ve been checking out the betas and I think the big difference is 3d desktop and some nice usability improvements. I’m still thrown back a little bit by my graphics card not being fully supported. However; it’s really exciting that Ubuntu is gaining focus and credit in the technical space. Freeware and open standards is about to rock the software world.

I’ve been evaluating if I can totally move to Ubuntu. My current conclusion is that I would miss a few things.
– The very nice record view, stable audio cd burning and seamless i-pod integration in i-tunes -even though Amarok is doing a good job replacing i-tunes
– My tv card is not supported on Linux
– Video calling is not supported in MSN or Skype -even though I unfortunately don’t really use it anyways.

So; for now I’m running Ubuntu and Vista..

Read more here

~ by Mikko on 18 October 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
